Posted by: Kara | August 11, 2009

The First One

Reading: Club Dead, Charlaine Harris
Page: 43 of 292

As you may have noticed, it’s August. And I’m not reading a book from my list. I’m reading the third installment of the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris, of True Blood fame. The show was introduced to me first, and I watched the first season before I read the first book. The second season started and I found a box set on sale for $37.95. (It’s apparently now higher in price.) It’s difficult to not get wrapped up in the books, and the HBO show is different enough from the book that there are new story lines amongst those in the book. Now I can look forward to how the rest of the second season will play out, now that I’m done book two.

I have Dune Road by Jane Green waiting for me at the library. I’ve read many of Jane Green’s books, and haven’t been disappointed. Jemima J is my favourite, followed closely by one I just finished, The Beach House. On hold at my library (located conveniently right down the street!) is Interview With the Vampire by Anne Rice. My original idea was to read all of Rice’s books in this specific series, but between Twilight and the Sookie novels, I’m quite sure I’ll be done with vampires by then. And I’ve never been one to care much about the trends.

So between Dune Road, Interview With The Vampire and the Sookie novels, I’m sure I’ll be covered for quite a while. Hopefully until January 2010 when I start my list. Hence why I’m waiting until then. I want to make sure my slate is clear for starting in 2010. We’ll see how this works! Until then, I’ll check back every once in a while and start off my reviews, etc with Dune Road, the newest of Green’s novels. In the meantime, please check out my portfolio website to learn a bit more about me, see my resume and read my feature, news and review articles up to now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

