Posted by: Kara | November 12, 2009

Gearing Up

Reading: Chasing Harry Winston, Lauren Weisberger
Page: 60 of 278

It’s been a few months since I wrote here, and although my challenge has yet to start, I thought I’d throw an update out there on my recent book reading. I just finished the 8th book (From Dead to Worse) of the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris. There are two more published books of the series I don’t have, but with any hope, I can grab these for my birthday or Christmas. Maybe I can read them in between my challenge – or finish them beforehand if I’m lucky.

My current book is from the author of The Devil Wears Prada. At the library, it was a choice between Chasing Harry Winston or The Devil Wears Prada by this author. I decided I wanted to try something different. So far, it’s pretty good and follows three women as they pledge resolutions to change their lives. One pledges to sleep with a man on every continent she visits in upcoming business trips; another pledges to have a monogamous relationship; and another, whose life is pretty much perfect, pledges to appreciate perfection. I look forward to how the pledges pan out.

As my BBC Book List challenge draws near, I’ve planned the first book, starting off easy: The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I actually found this book left behind by a roommate, so I figure it’s fair game. I’m looking forward to this one as I’ve heard the book is quite great. After that, maybe I’ll tackle The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I actually own this but for some reason haven’t read it. So I figure it’ll factor up there on my list.

I’m wondering if I’ll actually accomplish reading all these books. I read probably 2-3 hours per day when I factor in my 20 minutes each way on the subway plus one hour at lunch plus night reading. I’d say that’s probably at least 30-40 pages, if not more! Either way, I’m looking forward to this challenge and the next time I post, I’m sure I’ll be starting the first book!

Responses

  1. Hi Kara! Interesting challenge. The Time Traveler’s Wife is awesome! (It was my book club’s first book) You’ll love it. And so is The Kite Runner. (The next novel by Hosseini is A Thousand Splendid Suns… my book club is reading it right now. Crazy good!). You’ll fly through both books in no time. Happy reading!

  2. I love this idea Kara! I’ve been toiling around in my head about how to connect my reading habits to a blog and this is PERFECT. I love it 🙂

    Also, I loved TTW and Kite Runner… both are easy to read.

  3. Second comment: Just looked at your list and realized that I’ve subconsciously been looking to read the classics too. I may have to adopt your list and read with you 🙂

    Lots of great books on there. Read the Lovely Bones recently too. Good luck Kara!


Leave a Reply

Categories

