Posted by: Kara | January 22, 2010

The Time Traveler’s Wife

Reading: The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger
Page: Finished

Oh wow. I just finished reading The Time Traveler’s Wife. To say I enjoyed this book would be a supreme understatement. It had all the important elements at every writer’s disposal: intrigue, romance, sadness, sensuality … everything. As the reader, I longed to know what would happen next, or in this book’s case, what has already happened. The time-shifting in the book wasn’t distracting and only added to the narrative.

The main characters, Henry and Clare, are well developed and surprising. Both are mysterious in their own way but lay almost every emotion out to the reader. Even with the novel’s sad undertone, I found myself rooting for the two – hoping against hope that they’ll be together in the end. I won’t give away anything to anyone who hasn’t read it – but there are surprises all throughout.

My reading time has been almost cut in half now since I take the streetcar home instead of the subway. The few times I’ve attempted to read on the streetcar were met with motion sickness, so that’s not happening anymore. But morning subway rides and 30 minutes before bedtime are still my time for reading.

Days to read: 18
Average pages per day: 29

Leave a Reply

Categories

