Posted by: Kara | March 9, 2010

Exploring New Authors

Reading: Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
Page: 193 of 385

As you can see, I’m not done Pride and Prejudice. In fact, I’m only about halfway through. Preliminary thoughts? As much as I want to adore the book, fall head over heels in love with the characters of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy, I’m struggling with the language. I’m going to blame it on the fact that I haven’t read Victorian literature in a good 5 or 6 years. It just reminds me exactly why I decided to take on this challenge. My literary mind has fallen by the wayside with the likes of the Twilight series and Chicklit. I’m bound and determined to continue through Pride and Prejudice because once I get past the language and difficulty in understanding half the terms in the book, it’s actually quite entertaining. Elizabeth Bennet’s character has so much depth and she’s just so spunky!

I recently discovered the Slush Pile Reader, a website dedicated to finding the next and greatest author. Users register and can vote on submitted manuscripts, some completed, some not. Any user can also submit manuscripts. Once enough users visit and vote and the popularity of the site grows, the top ranked manuscript will be published! It’s still a very new site but there’s a lot of promise with it. It sounds like a great way to explore undiscovered writers and foster an interactive forum for discussing literature. I’ve registered and look forward to voting on the already submitted manuscripts.

Anyway, I wanted to update my page count and share the website!

Edit: I’ve just come across another similar website I’ll definitely be hitting up as well: authonomy.com This one was dreamed up by the folks over at HarperCollins, which adds a certain type of legitimacy that might be missing from Slush Pile Reader.

Leave a Reply

Categories

