Posted by: Kara | April 5, 2010

The Epic of Pride & Prejudice

Reading: Dracula – Bram Stoker
Page: 26 of 327


Phew! Finally finished Pride & Prejudice last week (March 31) and have never been happier to be done a book. It’s not that it was a bad book, but it was just long. And I’ve read books that are 600-700 pages in length. The language was long. The plot and characters were the only saving grace. I knew I was setting myself up for a different experience with Pride & Prejudice, but I guess I never took into consideration that the book was published almost 200 years ago (1813!!) The world was an incredibly different place 200 years ago. So it was the language, but also any references had to be explained in the footnotes if I had any chance of understanding the book. As it was, I struggled and quickly gave up attempting to understand the novel and instead set my mind to just finishing it.

That said … I do understand how the book is a literary classic. I was hoping against hope that all the characters I’d grown attached to would be happy. I hoped the elder sisters would be married off before the ripe old age of 23. For their sanity, of course – because who can imagine being a single, unmarried woman in 1813?!

Following further on that, the funniest part of the book was just how desperate the women were to get married, and how their own father fretted about how his family would survive after he died. Because again, who can imagine being a single, unmarried woman in 1813?! It’s almost unthinkable! But seriously, all jokes aside, the world of Pride & Prejudice focused heavily on the dependence of women on men. Coming from this current society, where women are not expected to get married by 20 and not expected to marry at all, it’s a drastic difference. If I had to choose a time to live, I choose now, thank you!

So this brings me to Dracula! And I’m enjoying it! I find myself in the dark castle, feeling the chills along my spine in the thick of the night, clutching the crucifix or garlic tight against my chest to ward off the evil in my midst. It’s a great read so far and I’m looking forward to seeing where the story takes me. I read a synopsis a while back (before I even thought of this challenge) on Dracula but I thankfully can’t remember all the plot details. So I know the story will be a surprise from beginning to end! I hope to compile a mental list of all the differences/similarities between modern vampire tales and this one just to see how the genre has changed.

Leave a Reply

Categories

