Posted by: Kara | May 10, 2010

Bad-Ass Dracula!

Reading: Memoirs of A Geisha – Arthur Golden
Page: 18 of 428

That’s right, I’m now going to read Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. I went to my favourite book store a few weeks ago, Balfour Books, with the challenge of finding at least one of my book list books. Memoirs of a Geisha popped in my head and I was searching for the book without remembering the author! The heavens shined down on me that day as my eyes scanned the shelf and came to rest on the exact book I was looking for! I should explain that Balfour Books isn’t known for being a store with neatly categorized books. Oftentimes books aren’t in alphabetical order and the “Fiction” section spans 5-6 floor to ceiling shelves. Excited, I brought the book to the counter to pay $10 for my find. The friendly lady behind the counter told me that this book always sells well and there are usually several copies brought in per week. Pretty cool!

And on we go to Dracula! I was wrapped in the book from the start, especially since I have a fascination for books in diary and letter style. I actually prefer first-person books and I also tend to write fiction in first-person. I originally wanted to run down a whole list of all the things that makes Dracula different from other vampire characters but I’ve decided against it. Dracula was surely not the first vampire novel, but the character is probably the most well-known. He has no reflection in the mirror; he cannot be near crosses; garlic offends him; he sleeps in a coffin; he doesn’t eat; etc … However … Dracula is pretty awesome. I’ll show you via this amazing quote. Jonathan Harker is looking out the window of Dracula’s castle and down to where he sees Dracula a level below:

I was at first interested and somewhat amused, for it is wonderful how small a matter will interest and amuse a man when he is a prisoner. But my very feelings changed to repulsion and terror when I saw the whole man slowly emerge from the window and begin to crawl down the castle wall over that dreadful abyss, face down with his cloak spreading out around him like great wings. At first I could not believe my eyes. I thought it was some trick of the moonlight, some weird effect of shadow; but I kept looking, and it could be no delusion. I saw the fingers and toes grasp the corners of the stones, worn clear of the mortar by the stress of years, and by thus using every projection and inequality move downwards with considerable speed, just as a lizard moves along a wall.

WALKS DOWN WALLS = Bad-Ass Dracula! He may have been one of the most evil villains to be portrayed in a novel, but if he can crawl down walls like Spiderman, he’s pretty epic in my books.

All in all, a great book, a great classic and a month of reading not wasted!

Leave a Reply

Categories

